Wednesday, 5 June 2013

Round 6 of Summer Cup

The final round of the Summer Cup was played yesterday evening and congratulations must go to Joshua Pink who has scored 6/6 and has therefore won the 2013 John Evans Memorial Trophy Summer Cup.

Congratulations must also go to Dave Ireland who was this year's Runner Up with a score of 5/6.

Ed Goodwin scored 4/6 only loosing once in the tournament

In matches last night Joshua only needed a draw to win the Cup and he actually won his match against Bava.

Paul Sweatman achieved a very creditable draw against Clive Blackburn. Don Sheward also played very well to secure a draw against Pete Smith. As mentioned previously our two newcomers also performed very well - Gerald Reason drawing with Howard Jones and although Sean Doherty lost against Dave Ireland he played very well.

Tournament Round Up

Bob Holmes narrowly missed out on a trophy this year with 4.5 points and yet again had an excellent Cup run and always does consistently well in this tournament.

Bava had a very good tournament securing 4/6 and had a chance of winning the Cup right upto the last round. The two games he lost were to Dave and Joshua

Stan Whitmore, Clive Blackburn, Pete Smith  also had an excellent Cup Run - only loosing twice in the tournament.

Well Done to Paul Sweatman who also achieved 3.5 points only loosing twice as well, with one being to Dave Ireland

John McCann and John Harris also obtained 3 points another solid performance.

A special mention for Sean Doherty who got 3.5 points for the tournament and was challenging the leaders at the end of the Cup... a great result for someone who is just learning the game!

Gerald Reason who has recently returned to chess after a long period also scored a creditable 2.5 points - having missed the first round.

Daniel Rowlands also only lost twice scoring 2.5 points

A big Thank you to all  the players who took part in the Cup and playing in the spirit of the game this made it a very enjoyable tournament to run and organise.

Presentation of the trophy's will take place at the AGM next week - 11th June 2013 7.30pm - 8pm

Results from last night

J.Pink 1 0 Bava
D.Ireland 1 0 S.Doherty
P.Sweatman .5 .5 C.Blackburn
R.Holmes 1 0 J.Harris
E.Goodwin 1 0 J.McCann
D.Rowlands .5 .5 J.Faill
D.Sheward .5 .5 P.Smith
I.Evans 0 1 S.Whitmore
G.Reason .5 .5 H.Jones
T.Beesley .5 .5 T.Gazee
G.Cornell 1 0 T.White

Overall Results

J.Pink             6   Winner
D.Ireland        5    Runner Up
R.Holmes       4.5
E.Goodwin     4
Bava              4
P.Sweatman    3.5
C.Blackburn   3.5
S.Doherty       3.5
S.Whitmore    3
D.Sheward     3
J.McCann       3
J.Harris           3
D.Rowlands    3
R.Parekh        2.5
P.Smith           2.5
J.Faill             2.5
T.Sheasby      2.5
H.Jones          2.5
G.Reason       2.5
I.Evans           2
R.Sian            2
G.Cornell       2
D.Filer           1.5
T.Gazee         .5
T.Beesley      .5
W.Beeston    .5
T.White         0
C.Dobson     0

No comments:

Post a Comment