Friday, 13 June 2014

British Championships

The 101st British Chess Championships will be held at Aberystwyth University, in Aberystwyth, Wales, between Saturday, 19th July and Saturday, 2nd August.
The 11-round Championship will feature 7 Grandmasters, including defending champion David Howell, and England's newly crowned European Seniors Champion, Keith Arkell. They will be joined by players who have qualified through various congresses around the British Isles since July 2013.
In addition to the main Championships, there are a wide variety of tournaments open to all players, subject to holding the appropriate category of membership:
* The British Graded Championships are played over five mornings, and there are four sections for players graded Under 120, Under 140, Under 160 and Under 180.
* The British Junior Championships are played over 6 or 7 rounds, with tournaments differing in length depending on the age group. There are tournaments ranging from a FIDE-rated Under 16 Championship to one-day Rapidplay Under 8 Championship.
* The British Seniors Championship will be played over 7 rounds, with two five-round grade-restricted Seniors tournaments: One in each week.
* There are FIDE-rated five-round morning and afternoon Open tournaments, as well as an 11-round FIDE-rated Major Open.
* For those who can only play over a shorter period, there are weekend tournaments and rapidplays on both Sundays.

With excellent accommodation packages and top quality playing conditions in one of Britain's best holiday locations, Aberystwyth provides an excellent opportunity to combine your enthusiasm for chess with your holiday.
The British Championships website has information ranging from the list of Championship qualifiers, accommodation packages, lists of entries for each tournament, and much more! You can find the website at:
To enter online, you can visit this page:
I hope to see you in Aberystwyth!
Alex Holowczak, ECF Director of Home Chess

No comments:

Post a Comment